SPONSOR

Vaulted Invest in Gold

Visit this blog’s sponsor. Vaulted is an online mobile web app for investing in allocated and deliverable physical gold: Kunstler.com/vaulted


 

Support JHK on Patreon

 

If you’re interested in supporting this blog, check out the Patreon page.

 

Attention Movie Producers!
JHK’s screenplay in hard-copy edition

Click to order!

A Too-Big-To-Fail Bankster…
Three Teenagers who bring him down…
Gothic doings on a Connecticut Estate.
High velocity drama!


Now Live on Amazon

“Simply the best novel of the 1960s”


Now in Paperback !
Only Seven Bucks!
JHK’s Three-Act Play
A log mansion in the Adirondack Mountains…
A big family on the run…
A nation in peril…


Long Emergency Cafe Press ad 2

Get your Official JHK swag on Cafe Press


The fourth and final book of the World Made By Hand series.

Harrow_cover_final

Battenkill Books (autographed by the Author) |  Northshire Books Amazon


emb of Riches Thumbnail

JHK’s lost classic now reprinted as an e-book
Kindle edition only


 


Support this blog by visiting Jim’s Patreon Page

And thanks to all my Patrons for your support


 

David Collum is the Betty R. Miller Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at Cornell University. He moonlights as an Internet gadfly offering commentary on culture, politics, finance, and technology, He publishes a massive Year in Review essay every Christmas season and it’s available at Chris Martenson’s Peak Prosperity Website. It’s a humdinger. In this chat, we reference the Christmas battlefield hiatus over in Ukraine — but we recorded this before the Jan 2 missile attack on a Russian barracks in Donbas that killed many Russian soldiers. Hope we don’t nuked for that.

The KunstlerCast theme music is the beautiful Two Rivers Waltz written and performed by Larry Unger.

Direct Download: https://dts.podtrac.com/redirect.mp3/traffic.libsyn.com/kunstlercast/KunstlerCast_368.mp3

Please send questions and comments to jhkunstler@mac.com


This podcast is sponsored by Vaulted, an online mobile web app for investing in allocated and deliverable physical gold. Vaulted is backed by McAlvany Financial Group, which owns ICA, one of the largest and longest continuously operating full-service gold brokerage firms in the United States.
To learn more visit: Kunstler.com/vaulted


And also by:
Sage Restoration *
high quality, traditional varnishes, paints
and other products for building preservation.
SageRestoration.com

Sage Restoration

About James Howard Kunstler

View all posts by James Howard Kunstler
James Howard Kunstler is the author of many books including (non-fiction) The Geography of Nowhere, The City in Mind: Notes on the Urban Condition, Home from Nowhere, The Long Emergency and the four-book series of World Made By Hand novels, set in a post economic crash American future. His most recent book is Living in the Long Emergency; Global Crisis, the Failure of the Futurists, and the Early Adapters Who Are Showing Us the Way Forward. Jim lives on a homestead in Washington County, New. York, where he tends his garden and communes with his chickens.

10 Responses to “KunstlerCast 368 — A Chat with David Collum about his Year in Review”

  1. happiface January 2, 2023 at 6:17 pm #

    russia preparing huge massive response to Donbas bombing..huge

  2. DaveO907 January 2, 2023 at 8:51 pm #

    Always a jopurney worth undertaking, you and Dave. Thanks. And Happy New Year.

    • Izdubar January 5, 2023 at 12:48 am #

      I would like to join a group or participate in a march opposing this insanity but can’t find anything helpful even on the internet.

    • Izdubar January 5, 2023 at 12:48 am #

      I would like to join a group or participate in a march opposing this insanity but can’t find anything helpful even on the internet. Q

      • hladini January 6, 2023 at 7:23 am #

        I would like everybody to grow food and learn a new skill that does not require electricity to utilize. Oh and make friends with their neighbors.

  3. tom clark January 2, 2023 at 10:23 pm #

    David Collum always has a thought-provoking perspective. Comments on cobalt spot on. Jimbo knows how to wind him up and let him go. It’s a wonder Cornell has allowed him to stick around…tenure, I suppose.

  4. hladini January 6, 2023 at 6:59 am #

    Yes, so many dangers. Traversing this material world is a razor’s edge and death can come at any moment. To make matters worse, we all have the 4 built-in defects.

    One defect is we are subject to illusion, which makes us very persuadable, nudgable, easy to trigger fear in. Then we have the defect of having imperfect senses. How do we gather information? Through our senses, but our senses are imperfect, which means any information gathering is going to be imperfect. Next we are prone to commit mistakes, which can really add to the mayhem. Finally, we have a propensity to cheat, and I’ve seen friggin’ penguins cheat their neighbors.

    When you combine these 4 built-in defects with the 8 elements (earth, fire, water, air, ether, mind, intelligence, and false ego) and the 3 material modes of nature (goodness, passion and ignorance), and the insatiable desire for profit, adoration and distinction….., well …. then …… you get……

    Clusterfuck Nation!

    Happy 2023 Everyone, May the Force be forever in our favor!!

  5. hladini January 6, 2023 at 7:18 am #

    David, You are wise to reject the entire vaccine narrative. Because of that “in stone” narrative, TPTB were able to pull off this terrible hoax. The only randomized, placebo controlled, peer reviewed study done comparing unvaxxed kids to vaxxed kids showed the absolutely horrendous health outcomes for vaxxed kids, and it was promptly retracted after a short publication period. The study was done by Dr. Paul from Oregon and a reputable colleague. Dr. Paul works for the CHD.

    Would you rather have the measles or a seizure disorder? Would you rather have the chicken pox or asthma? Would you rather the mumps or developmental delays? Our children are suffering multiple and chronic health epidemics simultaneously. But guess what?

    SADS is the new SIDS and child mortality rates dropped in 2020 when so many parents delayed the pediatrician visits….

  6. hladini January 6, 2023 at 8:40 am #

    My take on climate change: we’re gonna get climate change but not because of Co2, rather because of the sun and our weakening magnetosphere. Our magnetic force field is thinning and the holes in it are getting bigger. The poles are moving right along, so much so, that airports had to recently re-configure GPS coordinates.

    Storms will get worse, lightening will become quite dangerous. In fact, I believe there was a recent discovery of a new kind of lightening or two. Earthquakes and volcanos will increase. So will health problems. Lots of peer reviewed studies on health issues triggered by solar activity and the less force field, the more solar weather gets through.

    I follow Ben Davidson of SuspiciousObservers. Not sure how to take him sometimes, he’s a serious person, a little over confident and exudes testosterone (which we’re in short supply of these days), but the science makes sense to me. Not my favorite area of science, am trying to catch up.

    For sure there is an existential threat from the Sun; if it burps hard enough and/or spurts out large multiple, long burps in our direction, our way of life is over in an instant. Every abc agency with a budget has produced a report on what would happen to the US if an EMP or CME or PME (proton mass ejection) hit us. However, it’s not if but when we get hit from the sun, it’s cyclical. Our current foreign policy isn’t working in our favor either, when it comes to an EMP threat.

    This is what we prep for, a grid down. For Christmas this year, I bought get home bags for my adult children – so they can get home more easily if they get stuck 10s of miles from home. The kids say they’ll indulge me and keep it in their cars. We have a hand pump for water, some small orchards and several gardens. We have a big family, with strong (unvaxxed) adult grandchildren and close ties to the neighbors. Many of us have sown seeds of goodwill over decades in this area. We can grow food year round here in Florida and we have acquired quite a bit of gardening infrastructure.

    I have somewhat of a boarding house situation in my empty nest home and that started about 2 years post 2008 crash. All the kids live close by. Several other people of our fledgling community live close by on small carbon footprints by choice – along with the high cost of living.

    I don’t fear a grid down as much as I fear being a refugee.

  7. JackStraw January 6, 2023 at 10:54 am #

    I’m amazed that David hasn’t been terminated by Cornell for wrongthink. His ultra-woke colleagues must spit at him as he walks by.

Leave a Reply


You must be logged in to post a comment.